My Continuous Professional Development

I have today signed off my 2016/17 CPD for the CIPR.  Finalising my CPD record was a lot more work than it probably should have been but as I joined in November, and the deadline for this year is 28 February, I had to complete a full year of records in a few months rather than doing it as I go.  As a result, it doesn’t include every development activity I undertook in 2016 but enough to get me to 60 points.  It will be more fulsome next year!

My 60 points were made up of four books, two short publications, a training course and a seminar.

Firstly the books.  I read what is now one of my favourite books, Robert Cialdini’s Influence: the psychology of persuasion.  wrote a full post about what I took from this book so won’t say any more here.

Christina Prell’s Social Network Analysis made it on the list as I was interested in using social network analysis (SNA) for stakeholder mapping.  Having read the book, I wrote a piece on LinkedIn about using the concept of brokerage to identify stakeholder influence.

Book number 3 is Rob Brown’s How to Build Your Reputation which I read in preparation for some training I was delivering.  I wrote about this the other day when I was going over my notes.  I am going to turn the speaking notes from the session into a full post at some point.

Last, but by no means least, was George Lakoff’s Don’t Think of an Elephant.  Polemical in tone (I was inspired by this to put his more scholarly Words That Work on my reading list), it introduced me to a whole new world of cognitive biases in the way words can convey values and appeal to different voter groups on a “System 1” level.

The two short publications were on the subject of ethics and reputation respectively.

Firstly, Attitudes of the British Public to Business Ethics 2016 published by the Institute of Business Ethics.  The big increase in awareness, and condemnation, of exploitative workplace practices was the main takeaway for me, along with the rising concern over excessive executive pay (which has become a political hot topic in the last few months).

The CEO Reputation Premium: Gaining Advantage in the Engagement Era is a typically excellent research publication by Weber Shandwick.  The degree to which the reputation of an organisation is based on the reputation of the CEO and C level executives is incredible and has serious implications for those involved in corporate reputation management.

One solitary half-day training session (must do better in 2017!) but it was a good one – a masterclass with the First Minister’s speechwriter.  Mostly this consisted of him going over past speeches explaining the reasons behind the structure and his research methodology in sourcing quotes and stories to give the speech life.  Absolutely invaluable.

Last item on the record was a seminar on Doing the Right Thing: Investing in Business Ethics run by the University of Edinburgh Sustainable Business Initiative and the Institute for Business Ethics and hosted by Standard Life in their magnificent Edinburgh office.  Important focus on the need for an ethical culture rather than a simple compliance based approach.

Leave a Reply

